Communication

Communication Structure
 

Communication – Parental Guidance

The purpose of this structure is to aid parents / carers to communicate with the appropriate person at Rickmansworth School in the appropriate time frame.

Where there are more general opinions or ideas you wish to share we have regular Parent Panel meetings and Headteacher’s surgeries half termly, both are scheduled on the School calendar.

You can raise specific issues about your child through two avenues. If it is regarding a specific subject please use the Academic route via the class teacher, Subject Leader and if appropriate the Head of the relevant Faculty.

If it is a more general or Pastoral issue about your child please direct it to Form Tutor in the first instance or if appropriate the Director of Learning (Key Stage 3) or Head of Key Stage (Key Stages 4 and 5). 

Immediate responses to emails and meeting requests should not be expected. This is not being discourteous, it is because staff are teaching / involved in other aspects of their work during set periods of the day.  In order for your enquiry to be addressed effectively we have implemented the procedures below;

  • Receipt of an email will be acknowledged within 48 hours during term time, but not over a weekend.
  • When more time it required and the parent has been initially informed, staff will respond within five working days.
  • If a member of staff is not able to deal with the email directly then they will pass it on to the most appropriate person.
  • Staff are not to be expected to monitor or respond to emails outside of their normal working hours, including weekends and published school holidays.  
  • Staff will not send emails to parents outside normal working hours.
  • Parental meeting requests with staff must be made in advance and unannounced requests for staff meetings will not be agreed.  Instead a meeting will be scheduled within 48hrs.  This protocol will not apply to a safeguarding concern.
  • Parental appointments with staff will not exceed 30minutes unless previously agreed.

Further details regarding our communication policy is available via the Governing Body page of the website.

RESPONDING TO PARENT COMMUNICATION – STAFF PROCEDURE

Please use the drop down boxes below to access the relevant information

Academic

ACADEMIC
 
The Academic Structure of the School is divided into Faculties. The Head of Faculty would be your first point of contact regarding a question you may have for your child’s performance in a given subject in their Faculty. The Head of Faculty may not answer this directly but pass it on to either the Head of Subject or the individual teacher.

 

FACULTY STRUCTURE

 

 

Subjects

Head of Faculty / Email contact

English

English, Film Studies

Ms S Doyle
sdoyle@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

 

Mathematics

Mathematics

ICT and Computing

Mr A Akram

aakram@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

Science

Science
Biology
Chemistry
Physics

Mr N Hayyan
mhayyan@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

Art & Technology

Art,
Design & Technology
Photography

Ms W Parks
wparks@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

Humanities

History
Psychology
Religious Studies

Ms L Cramp
lcramp@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

Modern Foreign Languages

French
German

Ms S Streatfield
sstreatfield@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

Physical Education 

PE

Mr R Gunn
rgun@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

Performing Arts

Dance
Drama
Music

Mr P Tompkins
ptompkins@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

Social Sciences

Business & Economics
Geography

Mr J Carrera
jcarrera@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

SEN

Special Educational Needs

Mrs Shallcross
 mshallcross@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk 

 

Pastoral

PASTORAL

The Pastoral structure of the School is led by Directors of Learning in Key Stage 3 and Heads of Key Stage in Key Stages 4 and 5. These staff oversee the whole child’s progress together with their team of Form Tutors. These staff would be your first point of contact for general concerns over performance crossing a number of Faculties or a welfare concern. The Directors of Learning/Heads of Key Stage may not answer this directly but may pass it on to the form tutor or another relevant member of staff.

    

Director of Learning / Head of Key Stage

Director of Learning / Head of Key Stage

Email Contact

Deputy Head of Key Stage

 

7

Mr S White
swhite@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

KS3

Mrs A M Sprenger
amsprenger@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

8

Mr G Burgess
grburgess@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

 

Mrs S D’Moirah
sdmoirah@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

9

10

Mr R Nelson
rynelson@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

KS4

Mrs K Link
klink@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

11

12

Mr C Eley
Celey@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

KS5

Ms A Hughes
ahughes@rickmansworth.herts.sch.uk

13

 

 

Communication Structure